Coffee Talk Pt.2

Earlier on this week I posted an article talking about not only my love of coffee, but also how I enjoy it. I spoke of what coffee means to me, how the simple process can help make my whole day better, and with the input of some special people, tried to impart a bit of coffee culture into the lives of those around me. With that being said; one of the people I reached out to, a friend named David Dellanave, shared how he makes his coffee, and all I can say is WOW. David shared his insight with me, but on a completely different level. I used to think I enjoyed making a cup of coffee until I learned that when David makes his brew it is both science and art come together in a way that can only be described as delicious.

In the words of Jen Sinkler: “I love drinking David’s coffee… He could be a barista at a super fancy coffee shop, if he wanted to be.” From what I have learned of David’s coffee process I would say that he IS a fancy coffee shop. I have never felt like more of a simpleton compared to this process. A troglodyte smashing beans with a rock and boiling them in a homeless man’s boot. We are all plebeians in the wake of this caffeinated arabican hurricane. So below I shall present to you the scientist meets creator that is David’s coffee. Enjoy.

Funniest_Memes_how-does-moses-make-coffee_5273

I take my coffee game pretty seriously. So seriously, in fact, that most people are pretty upset when they ask me for an espresso machine recommendation and I tell them they’re looking at over two thousand dollars to get a decent machine and grinder. Espresso machines exist on a curve, and pretty much everything below a certain price is worthless. By the way, I’m only interested in espresso machines versus other ways to make coffee because it’s simply the best way to extract the magical flavors from that little bean.

Prepare to get learned.

Prepare to get learned.

Enter the Aeropress. A $25 plastic plunger device invented by a man who made his fortune selling flying discs that makes an incredible cup of coffee. You’ll also want to pick up a coffee grinder, as buying pre-ground coffee is for pikers. The Hario ceramic is a great choice. Check it here.

– First, measure and grind 18 grams (I use a jewelry scale, but you can use a scooper too) of fresh coffee beans – the ground coffee should be about as fine as table salt – giver or take.

– Place the plunger upside down inside the brewing tube with the black rubber part touching the bottom of the number 4 circle and the top of the plunger on the table. Place a paper filter in the filter cap and wet it.

– Add your coffee into the inverted AeroPress.

– Pour just enough hot water about (30 seconds off the boil or about 195 degrees F) into your brewer to cover the grounds.

  • Wait 30 seconds.
  • Fill the Aeropress up to about half an inch under the top.

– Wait 60 seconds.

– Use the AeroPress paddle to give a quick stir about 3 times.

– Screw the filter cap on top.

– Flip it upside down onto a mug and press it down.

– When it’s finished, top off your mug with water.

 

Now all you need is some good coffee. Pssst: http://www.paradiseroasters.com/

In the words of MC Hammer: Can't touch this.

In the words of MC Hammer: Can’t touch this.

Leave a Reply

